Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the Secretary

DC Agency Top Menu

Notary Services: Contact (202) 727-3117, Open for walk-in 9 am - 1 pm, Monday-Friday, except holidays, Location: 441 4th Street, NW.

The Office of the Secretary of the District of Columbia announces the new Digital Archive for the Office of Public Records and Archives. This repository will make historical records from the DC Archives available digitally to the public for historical and genealogical research.

Please visit the site at

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Sister Cities

As the capital of the United States of America, Washington, DC generally partners only with national capitals around the world. Each nation’s capital has its own culture, character, history, challenges and priorities that are shared through Sister City Agreements and Protocols of Friendship. The District of Columbia has also partnered with Sunderland, England, the ancestral home of the first president, George Washington.

These partnerships create opportunities for the sister cities to learn from each other in the areas of economic development, education, social, youth and cultural projects or exchanges and government administration. Four to five specific projects are developed under each relationship. 

The District of Columbia has signed Sister City Agreements or Protocols of Friendship with the following 15 cities:

Thailand  Bangkok, Thailand (since 1962, renewed 2002, renewed 2012)

  Dakar, Senegal (since 1980, renewed 2006) Senegal

China   Beijing Municipality, People’s Republic of China (since 1984, renewed 2004, renewed 2012)

Belgium  Brussels Capital Region, Belgium (since 1985, renewed 2002, renewed 2011)

  Tshwane (Pretoria), South Africa (since 2002, renewed 2008, renewed 2011) South Africa

  Paris, France (since 2000, renewed 2005) France

Greece  Athens, Greece (since 2000)

  Seoul Metropolitan Government, Republic of Korea (since 2006) South Korea

Ghana  Accra, Ghana (since 2006)

United Kingdom  Sunderland, United Kingdom–George Washington’s Ancestral Home (since 2006, renewed 2012)

Italy  Rome, Italy (since 2011, renewed 2013)

Turkey  Ankara, Turkey (since 2011)

Brazil  Brasilia, Brazil (since 2013)

Ethiopia  Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (since 2013)

San Salvador, El Salvador San Salvador, El Salvador (since 2018)


More Information

Service Contact: 
Office of the Secretary
Contact Email: 
Contact Phone: 
(202) 727-6306
Contact Fax: 
(202) 727-3582
Contact TTY: 
Contact Suite #: 
Suite 419
Office Hours: 
9 am to 5:30 pm