Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Commission on the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday

About the Commission

The purpose of the Commission is to assist the Mayor on the District's celebration to commemorate the birth of Dr. King. The Commission recommends and helps to implement events to be sponsored by the District of Columbia government. They also encourage educational programs related to the holiday and the day of service.

Commission members are appointed by the Mayor.  

The current members are:

Sharon D. Anderson, Chairman

Marcus Allen

Denise Rolark Barnes

Robert Brannum

Aaron Dorsey

Jamila Felton

Earl Fowlkes

Crispus Gordon

Charles Hicks

Burnell Holland

Cedric Jennings

Aaron Jones

Dexter Nutall

Monica Palacio

Lee Brian Reba

Kendrick Brown Selassie, PhD

Douglass Sloan

Judith Terra

Lionell Thomas

Serve DC